Stuffed Bell Peppers

I was going to share a recipe that is ancient to say the least, but time has caught up with me. As I strongly believe in eating seasonal food and taking full advantage of all nature provides I have decided to dedicate this post to peppers.

It is still nice and warm where I live, but the time has come to harvest my bell peppers. I can hear the cranes overhead as they migrate south, the sun no longer has the strength it had and the peppers are unlikely to ripen further. Although I have been

Stuffed bell peppers

Stuffed bell peppers

eating them all summer, I still have quite a few left. Today I thought I would start with the un-ripe green peppers.

The following recipe is for stuffed bell peppers. It is a basic recipe and I change it depending upon what I have available. For example I have lots of carrots at the moment too so I put some into the mix. I also put lots of basil in as peppers remind me of summer, as does basil. Again just put in whatever herbs you like.

For the rest of the post please click here.

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Bell Peppers

  1. Hi, Lincoln,

    Your stuffed bell peppers are a very good idea how to eat products of the season and at the right time. For us , peppers are typical for the summer time, while there are different sorts of vegetables ( cauliflower for example ) in autumn.
    We know a very similar recipe how to stuff peppers. Most people prefer eating meat with the peppers. So they are stuffed mostly with a mixture of a lot of meat and a smaller portion of rice. It’s of course no problem to vary with a completely vegetarian idea….I do prefer rice and sometimes mushrooms very much combined with fresh herbs.

    have a good time !
    Bye
    Ursula

    Like

  2. Hello Ursula,

    Many thanks for the comments. I really do appreciated the comments as I really would like to get some discussions going on here….. exchanging ideas, exchanging recipes and getting the gastric juices flowing.

    If it rains a little more we might have a good wild mushroom season, I will give you a shout if I need a good recipe.

    Bis später,
    Lincoln

    Like

Leave a Reply

