Garbure

A few posts ago I mentioned the town of Laruns in a post on the Gâteau Basque. As I wanted to mention three different recipes related to the town I always planned on writing three posts. This is the second of the trilogy.

The French really do know how to enjoy good food. I have had some really memorable meals in France, without having gone to any of the more famous restaurants. It seems like even the local cafe in some forgotten village has a board of fare worthy of mention. They take the most simple of ingredients, with uncomplicated cooking methods, and turn out some real culinary gems. So when my wife and I decided to go on the trip to Laruns, we decided to have lunch out.

I like to try new dishes and I opted for the “Garbure”. The post today looks at this simple but oh so delicious dish. It uses confit duck leg to give the stock a good flavour.

The Finished Dish

The Finished Dish

Please click here to see the rest of the post!

Leave a Reply

