A Not Quite “Classic Date and Walnut Loaf”

Before I get into this week’s recipe, let me just say that this cake can be made with dates, it is a date and walnut loaf after all, it is just that I had other ingredients to hand!

The Finished Loaf

The Finished Loaf

A couple of months ago I made frequent trips into the hills to collect walnuts. Walnut trees are common here and grow along many of the waterways. Although people do collect the nuts here, it tends to be just from the trees nearest to the village and many that are further out are relatively untouched. It should also be said that I manage to get quite a few nuts from the closer trees too, you see I have a height advantage and can easily get to relatively inaccessible ones. I saw them sitting there in the storeroom and thought that it was about time I did something with them.

Chopped Walnuts and Dried Figs

Chopped Walnuts and Dried Figs

On the opposite side to the walnuts I saw a jar of dried figs and I had the idea to make a fig and walnut loaf.

To read the rest of the post and to see the recipe please click here.

Leave a Reply

