Palets Bretons

On the outskirts of the town is a supermarket we tend to visit. It has all manner of French produce and in particular duck in confit and cassoulet. I have always been fond of duck and in confit has to be one of the best ways of eating it. On this last trip we picked up a packet of biscuits of a type called “Palets Bretons”. We had never tried them before but that didn’t stop us, nothing ventured nothing gained as they say. They were in fact delicious as they melted in the mouth. I decided that I had to have a go at making my own.

4 - Finished Palets

This is one recipe where I would recommend not substituting the butter for margarine or similar. I must admit to being undecided as to which is better for one’s health and when I am in doubt I tend to opt for the natural product. Unfortunately my trust in food processing companies is low and waning. Also, importantly, I think that in this case the butter improves both the texture and the flavour.

The finished palets have a sharp cut edge. The recipe below will explain how to do this………

For the rest of the post and the recipe please click here.

Leave a Reply

