Tarta de Santiago / St. James’ Almond Cake

19-piece-of-cake

This is the third and last article that I planned on writing with recipes gleaned from our summer 2016 trip to Galicia. The bad news is that it has taken me over 6 months to get the three recipes out, the good news is that I do believe that I have left the best till last. This cake is so simple, uses just four readily available main ingredients and, for those of you with allergies, it does not contain any wheat. It has to be one of my favourite cakes of all time. Although here in Spain it is relatively easy to find this cake in shops and in restaurants, the home-made variety is far superior and I would recommend even my Spanish readers giving it a try.

The cake gets its name from the city of Santiago de Compostela in Galicia, which in turn is named after the saint who is supposedly buried in the cathedral there (Originally Sancti Iacobi or in English Saint James). The city itself is a historic and beautiful one, and is also well known as the finishing line of the Camino de Santiago (St. James’ Way) long distance walk……….

2016 07 66 Santiago Cathedral

The Cathedral

…………… Anyway, back to the cake. This is another recipe from my wife’s Aunt who lives in La Coruña, the first being the “Empanada Gallega” which I published recently. As I mentioned at the start of this article, it is so easy and really is worth a try……

To read the rest of the article and to see the recipe please click here.

 

2 thoughts on “Tarta de Santiago / St. James’ Almond Cake

  1. Hi, Lincoln, without any doubt the region is very beautiful and I have heard so many recommendations regarding the local kitchen and menues. Even on the Canarian Islands there are restaurants with focus on Galicia. The cake looks very nice and for all those who like almonds it will be great. I will try it for one Sunday at least .
    have a good time! Ursula

    Like

Leave a Reply

