Teisen Ann Dafis / Welsh Fruit Cake

14-cakes-with-piece-cut-showing-2

This week is all about a traditional Welsh fruit cake. I’ve had the recipe in printed form for 30 years so why make it now you might ask?

Well I guess there are a number of reasons. My maternal grandfather’s side of the family came from Wales. When I was very young I lived there for a while and throughout my informative years I spent many holidays there. Important reasons no doubt, but again one might ask why now?

Well a big part of the “why now” has to do with the fact that I decided I wanted to learn Welsh!

As an infant I was enthralled by a children’s programme on Welsh television. They had this humongous snakes and ladders board set-up where the children would walk around the board depending on the number they achieved from rolling the die. There were ladders to be climbed and slides, as snakes, to be slid down. Most entertaining to a young mind and with the constant repetition at least I learnt the numbers in Welsh from one to six!………….

………One of the places we would often visit is Conwy, or Conway in English. Its magnificent castle again made a great impression on my young mind. If you like castles then Wales is the place to go, they are really magnificently large military fortifications. In no way are these the palace-castles of other countries, these were built for one purpose only, war. If my recommendation were not enough, the UNESCO considers Conwy castle one of the finest examples of late 13th century military architecture in Europe.

99-conwy-castle-edited

……Oh….. and before I forget…. for you English teachers out there and I know I have a couple at least. The cake is called Ann Dafis. Welsh has a few double letters, “ff” is one of them. A double “ff” is pronounced as an “f”, whilst a single “f” is pronounced as a “v”. The name of the cake therefore would be pronounced Ann Davis in English. The same pronunciation rule applies to and explains the difference between the words “of” and “off” in English!

To read the rest of the article and to see the recipe please click here.


2017 Lincoln W. Betteridge

2 thoughts on “Teisen Ann Dafis / Welsh Fruit Cake

    • Hello Teresa,

      Glad you liked it. Tourists from abroad always seem to go to Ireland, Scotland or London. I have always liked Wales and thought that the recipe this week was an opportunity to share a couple of my favourite places.

      Like

Leave a Reply

