No-Knead Rustic Loaf

06-finished-bread

Today I thought I would write about something different. Today I thought I would write a little less about the origins of the recipe and more about the actual process of writing one of my articles. Today I thought I would give you a little insight into what challenges I face in my weekly self-imposed task of publishing a recipe and article on this blog………

Some people ask me where I get the ideas for my articles, well the truth is that in general they are just my idle musings, just whatever is going through me head at the time, given expression on a piece of electronic paper. Often, as mentioned in other articles, these ideas pop into my head from a dopamine induced brain-fog I often succumb to as I run in the mountains. As I often avail myself of the local mountains, at least for the moment, I have no shortage of things to write about. I can only hope that these musings are something you are interested in reading!………

90-almond-blossom-and-green-fields

…….. This particular bread journey started last summer in Galicia where even the humblest of restaurants served us fantastic bread. The quality and variety of breads they served was one of the first things I noticed about the region. So the bread has somewhat of a Galician style to it.

The next influence was from a bakery on Zurita, the street where my mother-in-law lives, that bakes a “pan de aceite”, a bread with lots of olive oil in it. Their bread is delicious so I wanted to get some of that flavour into my bread too.

The third was a television programme that was talking about “Panishop”, a local bakery chain. They had started selling a “slow” bread with a longer raising cycle to give it a better, stronger flavour. I liked the sound of that too!

Lastly, but far from leastly, I wanted a bread that required no kneading.

For the full article and to read the reciope please click here.


2017 Lincoln W. Betteridge

Leave a Reply

