Israeli Meatballs with Broad Beans

12 Broad beans on a plate

When is the right time to cook a particular dish or indeed buy “fresh” ingredients?

I have waited nigh on five months to make today’s recipe, ever since my son gave me a fantastic book on Israeli cooking for Christmas. I waited because I wanted the freshest ingredients possible, with as many as possible coming from my allotment. The end result, deliciously spicy meatballs made using garlic, onions, fresh mint, parsley and coriander from the allotment served with fresh broad beans that are also homegrown…………

……………..I don’t know if it is an age thing….. but I am finding that I enjoy using spices more and more. I find I am making more dishes from the Middle East, North Africa and India. It is also easy to get the spices here, locally. Many temporary workers, in particular from Morocco, who came to pick fruit or grapes, have found a permanent home in the villages in the valleys around here.

These meatballs are full of spices, which gives them lots of Middle Eastern flavour, but they are not spicy-hot. They should therefore be suitable for almost anyone.

To read the full article and view the recipe please click here.


2017 Lincoln W. Betteridge

Leave a Reply

