Farmhouse Whirls

15 On cooling rack-close up

I thought of this recipe for a couple of reasons

1 – The temperatures here in Spain

2 – The pastry making from last week’s recipe

Last week I encouraged you readers to have a go at making pastry. I also suggested a recipe that should help with the technique of “rubbing in”, something common to many types of pastry. Today’s recipe also helps to practise the basics as well as being one of the easiest pastries to play with. It is a robust type of pastry requiring little care when being rolled out.

As most of you will have gathered by now, I live in Spain. Last week the highest temperature ever recorded was reached, 47ºC. Climate Change I hear you ask?…. who knows. As per my comments in the past I think we should take care of our planet, climate change or no. It just doesn’t seem like we ought to risk the only planet we have! I always have something baked on-hand for a nibble mid morning or mid afternoon. We find this recipe is good for hot weather as these whirls keep much better at this time. Other cakes and biscuits I make are more liable to go off.

99 Winewall 01

Winewall

The name of the recipe itself takes me back to the farms and farmhouses of Winewall and Colne, the area where I grew up. Although I am talking of the 1960’s and 1970’s, in many ways these farmhouses had remained stuck in time. The next door farmer for example used a Victorian washing dolly to wash his clothes then a mangle to extrude the water. A man, who we called “Dan Dan the Lavatory Man”, would come by from time to time and empty out the long drop toilet from the farm and indeed some of the houses just down the road…………….

To read the rest of the article and to view the recipe please click here.

 


2017 Lincoln W. Betteridge

Leave a Reply

