Gelée de Lapin au Cidre / Rabbit and Cider Terrine

26 Gelée de Lapin au Cidre : Rabbit and Cider Terrine

Anyone who has been following this blog for a while will know of my admiration for French food. The quality of French cuisine is known worldwide, and rightly so. One can walk into any humble restaurant, in almost any French town, and be served a dish that has been made with love and care.

What I also like about French food is how they can make a marvellous dish out of just a few ingredients and some simple cooking techniques. In an age where complexity of technique and obscurity of ingredients are all the fashion, I find it quite refreshing to eat a “simple” French dish.

It was therefore with great interest that I tuned into a famous series of French cookery programmes, called “Le Tour de France Gourmand”, on local Spanish television. My glee rapidly turned to disappointment however when I realised it was over dubbed. Over dubbing is a phrase of my own making to describe a technique whereby the original audio is left in place, and a Spanish commentary is added on top. Basically you have two people talking at the same time.

01 Book Cover

Some people are good at multi-tasking, and I like languages, but listening to two people talking at the same time in two different languages is just too much for my simple brain. Why do they do it?…….. I can only guess that it is cheaper or easier! I do wish they would just put subtitles at the bottom.

To read the rest of the article and to view the recipe please click here.

 


2018 Lincoln W. Betteridge

Leave a comment